Joel Donkin-the homepage

horse horses riding St John Nurse Nursing Registered Nurse RN Australia

Hello and welcome to my tiny corner of the world wide web.

The purpose of this page is to provide a point of contact and a bit a basic information to those who, for various reasons, may find themselves with a "need to know"

So sit back, relax, take a deep breath and enjoy the ride as I unfold a thumb nail sketch of my life.

The early years...

I was born on the 26th of September 1965, in Mona Vale on the Northern Beaches of Sydney, NSW, Australia. This makes me a Libran, although Im not sure what that entails.

I am the only child of Noel John Donkin, a master plumber and intrepid surf life saver, and Helen Louise Donkin (nee Helen Louise McKern) who is the eldest of a clan of decidedly artistic folk. I am an only child, which meant I was probably spoilt and over-indulged, but looking back on it I didn't mind a bit.

I grew up in an around the Northern Beaches with either salt or chlorine in my hair most of the year. I played football (rugby) surfed and swam because that's what everybody did in those days.

At various times I belonged to just about every uniformed youth organisation available. Of these I guess Scouts had the biggest impact and not a day goes by that I dont use something I picked up in the Scouts.

I also picked up what what has developed into a lifelong passion for horses and riding. (thanks especially to much beloved cousin Sandra) 

All in all, I had a dream run as a kid, and am grateful to my parents for the great job they did getting me through childhood alive.

Who I am now..                

Time passed, as time does, and I grew up. I joined the Australian Army Reserve at age 17 and am still soldiering on in my 22th year. Although I have had a few periods of continuous and full time service I have always been a "Citizen Soldier"

I married fairly young to a lovely lady from Victoria. We have two great children, now 15 and 13 who are growing up far too quickly into very fine and talented individuals. Unfortunately, my marriage did not stand the test of time and after 12 years we have gone our separate ways. I wish her well, and hope all her dreams come true. I see my kids regularly and time with them is always the best time of my life.

I have been a Registered Nurse  of one sort or another for most of my working life. Nursing to me is the art of making the extra-ordinary ordinary. Nursing is meeting people at the most vulnerable times of their lives and helping them find the path that gets them through. I am also good at a few other things, like sales. I can put a shoe on a horses foot and fix a bridle. I also know morse code, although that wont get me far anymore :-)

What I like to do.

As I said before, horses and riding are my passion. Winston Churchill was right when he said that "the outside of a horse is good for the inside of a man".

I have done lots of different stuff with horses over the years. These days I find that I am trail riding more than anything else but who knows what the future will hold.

I have an ongoing love affair with the sea, and will give anything a go on it, near it or under it.

I love the bush, climbing , camping, canyoning. My kids and I do all this stuff regularly.

I read avidly and extensively.

I have been various types of fire fighter in the past, and hopefully will be again. I have also done a bit of duty with St John Australia as a Nursing Officer.


So that's it, I hope you enjoyed it.

If you would like a copy of my resume because you want to talk to me about a really good job, or just want to drop me a line, you can email me at:

or ICQ me on 3811779